The Eloquence of the Dead

The Eloquence of the Dead

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
""Bodies can tell you a lot. There can be an eloquence about the dead. But you have to be able to interpret what they are telling you. "This captivating, expertly crafted mystery captures the life and essence of Victorian Dublin and draws the reader on a gripping journey of murder and intrigue. When a Dublin Pawnbroker is found murdered and the lead suspect goes missing, Sergeant Joe Swallow is handed the poisoned chalice of the investigation. On the way he uncovers deep rooted corruption, discovers the power of new, scientific detection techniques and encounters a ruthless adversary. With authorities pressing for a quick resolution, the public living in fear of attack and the newspapers happy to point to the police's every mistake, Swallow must use every trick in his arsenal to crack the case. Following leads from Trim Castle to the Tower of London, The Eloquence of the Dead is a taut, fast-paced crime thriller perfect for fans of Charles Finch and Charles Todd"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2016
Characteristics: xviii, 360 pages : map ; 25 cm
Edition: First U.S. edition
Copyright Date: ©2013
ISBN: 9781250057570 (hardback)
Call Number: FICTION BRADY

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Roundcat
Apr 25, 2016

Conor Brady's Joe Swallow leads an "interesting" life. Besides the art classes mentioned in the reviews, there's keeping his sister out of trouble as she explores psychic powers with "Willie" Yeats, the new science of finger printing introduced by medical examiner Harry LeFeyre, solving several murders and also a government scandal to be kept under wraps. This was not a boring book. The writing paints the picture of the times and gives life to the author's deep knowledge of Dublin and police in 1887. The plot is revealed skillfully through thorough police work and knowledge of human nature working with and against one another, particularly his boss, John Mallon, who knows everything that's going on and how to utilize the talents of each of his G-men.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top