The Content Trap

The Content Trap

A Strategist's Guide to Digital Change

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"For readers of The Innovator's Dilemma comes an incisive new approach to one of the key questions of our time--how to thrive rather than be destroyed by digital transformation--from Harvard Business School Professor of Strategy Bharat Anand. Companies everywhere face two major challenges today: getting noticed and getting paid. To confront these obstacles, Bharat Anand examines a range of businesses around the world, from Chinese Internet giant Tencent to Scandinavian digital trailblazer Schibsted, from The New York Times to The Economist, and from talent management to the future of education. Drawing on these stories and on the latest research in economics, strategy, and marketing, this refreshingly engaging book reveals important lessons, smashes celebrated myths, and reorients strategy. Companies that now flourish are finding that the connections they foster are more important than the content they create. Success comes not from making the best content but from recognizing how content enables customers' connectivity; it comes not from protecting the value of content at all costs but from unearthing related opportunities close by; and it comes not from mimicking competitors' best practices but from seeing choices as part of a connected whole. Digital change means that everyone today can reach and interact with others directly: We are all in the content business. But that comes with risks that Bharat Anand teaches us how to recognize and navigate. Filled with conversations with key players and in-depth dispatches from the frontlines of digital change, The Content Trap is an essential new playbook for navigating the turbulent waters in which we find ourselves. Advance praise for The Content Trap "As Bharat Anand shows in this eminently readable book, connections are now more important than content. His insights will bring you several steps closer to understanding the digital revolution and how you can avoid its many perils."--Daniel H. Pink,New York Timesbestsellingauthor ofDriveandTo Sell Is Human "A very smart book--creators, ignore this at your peril. This revolution has been twenty years in the making, and Bharat Anand makes the past (and the future) a lot more clear."--Seth Godin, New York Times bestselling author of Meatball Sundae and Linchpin"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Random House, [2016]
Characteristics: xxxii, 423 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780812995381 (hardback)
Call Number: 302.230684 ANAND

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
rpavlacic
Mar 08, 2017

A good book about the global trends as we transition from Web 2.0 to Web 3.0. Discusses the reason why it's not important to have good content, but to understand that content as well as the connections it makes with people - and why in that vein why well established businesses like the New York Times, the Economist, Edward Jones, Wikipedia and Microsoft continue to thrive while others are doomed to fail or fall behind and remain stuck in niche markets. Also uses world examples, like how a TV network in India's decision to put on a controversial talk show as well as that country's version of "Who Wants to be a Millionaire" rocketed that network from last to first place in the ratings. Sobering reading, but important stuff in the digital age.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top