The Winemaker's Wife

The Winemaker's Wife

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
15
"From the author of the "engrossing" (People) and "poignant" (Booklist) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amelie comes a remarkable and moving story of love, danger, and betrayal: two women in France in the darkest days of World War II and another in present-day America on a quest to uncover the secret that connects them. At the dawn of the Second World War, Ines is the young wife of Michel, owner of the House of Chauveau, a small champagne winery nestled among rolling vineyards near Reims, France. Marrying into a storied champagne empire was supposed to be a dream come true, but Ines feels increasingly isolated, purposely left out of the business by her husband; his chef de cave, Theo; and Theo's wife, Sarah. But these disappointments pale in comparison to the increasing danger from German forces pouring across the border. At first, it's merely the Nazi weinfuhrer coming to demand the choicest champagne for Hitler's cronies, but soon, there are rumors of Jewish townspeople being rounded up and sent east to an unspeakable fate. The war is on their doorstep, and no one in Ines's life is safe--least of all Sarah, whose father is Jewish, or Michel, who has recklessly begun hiding munitions for the Resistance in the champagne caves. Ines realizes she has to do something to help. Sarah feels as lost as Ines does, but she doesn't have much else in common with Michel's young wife. Ines seems to have it made, not least of all because as a Catholic, she's "safe." Sarah, on the other hand, is terrified about the fate of her parents--and about her own future as the Germans begin to rid the Champagne region of Jews. When Sarah makes a dangerous decision to follow her heart in a desperate bid to find some meaning in the ruin, it endangers the lives of all those she cares about--and the champagne house they've all worked so hard to save. In the present, Liv Kent has just lost her job--and her marriage. Her wealthy but aloof Grandma Edith, sensing that Liv needs a change of scenery before she hits rock bottom, insists that Liv accompany her on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive--and some difficult but important information to share with her granddaughter. As Liv begins to uncover long-buried family secrets, she finds herself slowly coming back to life. When past and present intertwine at last, she may finally find a way forward, along a difficult road that leads straight to the winding caves beneath the House of Chauveau. Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Kate Quinn's The Alice Network, The Winemaker's Wife is an evocative and gorgeously wrought novel that examines how the choices we make in our darkest hours can profoundly change our lives--and how hope can come from the places we least expect"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2019
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Edition: First Gallery Books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781982112318 : $18.99
198211231X : $18.99
Call Number: AXIS360 EBOOK FICTION HARMEL

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - American Epic
JeffcoBooks Jun 15, 2020

Relishing in marital problems, intrigue, and wine, "The Winemaker's Wife" ties together present-day New York with 1940's Nazi occupied France. A moving, immersive story of perseverance in the face of adversities, told from the perspectives of three women, Inès, Celene and Liv.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
jazimmermann
Jul 10, 2020

I actually really enjoyed this read and had it done in a day. I will say I found it predictable and had predicted the "twists" very early on. It may just be a little too of a happy ending for me however, which is fine I suppose.

i
ididarodkid
Jun 02, 2020

The history was of interest. I found the female characters lacking in my ability to relate to.

s
Sheila1975
Feb 13, 2020

a fabulous book, a definite great read. Would recommend it highly-will not disappoint. Lots of interesting twists and turns that keep you interested and reading more.!!!

b
BeckyR21
Feb 06, 2020

This is my second Kristen Harmel book (Room over Rue Amelie being the first), and while she writes very readable books, I don't think her publisher does her any favours by comparing her work to The Alice Network or The Nightingale. The expectations are too great for this book to match, and the reader will be disappointed. However, knowing her writing style, I was not expecting a blockbuster, and enjoyed the book for what it is - light, easy reading. Yes, it is based during the war, but the focus is character and very little of the actual resistance is involved. If you're looking for a quick, 'chick lit' type book, this is for you. If you want a heavy, war-focused novel, move along. Cheers!

t
tgosche
Jan 19, 2020

Poor attempt at a "Nightingale" type novel.
It's a "My husband doesn't understand me"
book
Rather than WWII resistance novel.
Interesting title.
Interesting book jacket.
Written at young adult level.

w
whitby6
Jan 09, 2020

Enjoyed this book. Simply entertaining, uncomplicated. Enjoyed Kristin Harmels style of writing.

VaughanPLKim Dec 29, 2019

Although it was quite interesting to read about how the Champagne houses in France used their cellars to smuggle weapons and hide Jewish refugees during World War II, I found myself getting frustrated with the characters, especially Ines. She was just too naïve to be believable, not to mention incredibly selfish. I did enjoy learning a bit about how Champagne is made.

l
lilypad_1
Nov 26, 2019

I did enjoy the novel however was surprised that the main character was so surprisingly naïve and weak the first 2/3 of the way and then all of a sudden joined the Maquis. If you have read non-fiction about WW2 resistance and survivors this will strike you as "really?" as in kind of lame but for those who like France, champagne and some fluff in their historical fiction this will be perfect.

2
2303tes
Nov 09, 2019

A different take on nazi interactions.
It did go on a bit but I enjoyed it.

A good plot but the writing style is simplistic and repetitive. The Grandmother should be a strong character but she shows little insight and mettle in her old age. The constant reference to grandmother's inability to forgive herself is annoying. And just assume that a woman who lives in Paris speaks French stop trying to impress the reader with her 'elegant French. The scene in 'heaven' has got to be the most inane scene I've read in years and shows the author's lack of skill and courage to leave some threads inconclusive.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top